Skip to Main Content

DEQ Title, click to go to DEQ home page



2017 Air Monitoring Network Plan Posted for Public Review: The Annual Network Review (ANR) is available for public comment through June 17, 2016.
It contains proposed changes to the Oklahoma Air Monitoring Network for
Fiscal Year 2017 (FY17). Comments should be submitted to the attention
of Kent Stafford, Environmental Programs Manager, ODEQ, Air Quality Division, Monitoring Section, PO Box 1677, Oklahoma City, OK 73101 or email
Kent Stafford. Posted May 16, 2016

The Clean Air Act establishes standards to protect the public and the environment from adverse health and welfare effects of air pollution. These standards, National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS), define the maximum permissible concentrations for certain pollutants, known as criteria pollutants.

NAAQS currently exist for six criteria pollutants: carbon monoxide (CO), lead (Pb), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), ozone (O3), sulfur dioxide (SO2), and particulate matter (PM). There are two categories of PM, particulate matter less than 10 micrometers (PM-10) and particulate matter less than 2.5 micrometers (PM-2.5).

A network of air quality monitoring stations routinely measures concentrations of the criteria air pollutants in the ambient air. To see the monitor locations and the types of pollutants monitored at each site, use the GPS map here. Air quality monitoring data for 2013 is now posted in the 2013 Air Data Report. This year's report includes a section on speciation of particulate matter. Earlier reports are still available: 2012 Air Data Report, 2011 Air Data Report, 2010 Air Data Report.

Page last updated: May 12, 2016


Search Current News or Events Environmental Education Public Information
DEQ Contact List About AQD Air Quality Education Fact Sheets
Search DEQ DEQ Calendar of Events DEQ Env. Education Publications
DEQ Address News Releases Environmental License Tag DEQ Forms
Permits for Public Review     Reports

Lawton | INCOG | ACOG | CenSARA | EPA Home